Harvard University Shield

Home Research Program Faculty Curriculum Clinical Experience Minority Information How To Apply Alumni

Contact Information:
Harvard Medical School
Fellowship in General
Medicine and Primary Care
Mass General Hospital
100 Cambridge Street
Boston, MA 02114

Tel (617) 643-9433
Email: GIM Fellowship
Harvard Medical School

Faculty in the Program are recognized as national leaders in academic general internal medicine, including four past presidents and five other present or past Council members and officers of the Society of General Internal Medicine. Dr. Russell S. Phillips and Dr. John Ayanian are the Directors of the Fellowship Program. Co-Directors are Drs. Edward R. Marcantonio and Christina Wee (Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center), Steven Simon and J. Michael Gaziano (Boston V.A. Healthcare System), Jennifer S. Haas (Brigham and Women's Hospital), Danny McCormick (Cambridge Health Alliance), Matthew W. Gillman and Emily Oken (Department of Population Medicine, Harvard Medical School & Harvard Pilgrim Health Care), Daniel E. Singer and Nancy Rigotti (Massachusetts General Hospital).

Throughout the years, our Program's Directors and Co-Directors have been recognized for their exceptional contributions to academic general internal medicine. Dr. Singer has received the Society of General Internal Medicine's John M. Eisenberg Award for Career Achievement in Research. Dr. Marcantonio has received the American Geriatrics Society Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Clinical Investigation Award. Drs. Phillips, Ayanian, Gillman, Marcantonio and Wee have received the A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award from Harvard Medical School, and Dr. Singer has received the William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award from Harvard Medical School. Dr. Wee has won the Mid-career research and mentorship award from the Society of General Internal Medicine. Dr. Phillips has won the Chiefs’ Recognition Award from the Association of Chiefs and Leaders in General Internal Medicine. Dr. Ayanian has received the Best Published Research Paper of the Year Award from the Society of General Internal Medicine and Drs. Ayanian and Gillman were recipients of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Generalist Physician Faculty Scholar Award. In 2010, Dr. Ayanian was elected to the Institute of Medicine.

For more information about our Faculty at each site, please either click on the individual site below or in the menu on the left.

Copyright © 2019 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College